Newsletter 586 – Taking a Break

This is a note about this weekly letter that has been going out for more than ten years. Each week I try to write something that draws from contemporary publications, mostly about leadership, counseling or coaching. I pay a fee to keep advertising off the site and I have never used it to promote anything, including promoting myself.

The coming six weeks or so will be unusually busy for my family and me so I am planning to cease mybreak 1 weekly post, probably until mid September. I hasten to add that I am not facing any crises, family or health problems. Neither do I expect to be sitting on a beach or taking a vacation in some exotic location. But we are making a major move in August and considering some new career directions. As a part of this I want to have a fresh look at this weekly letter and do some updates. Probably during this break time I will send all of you an anonymous survey to get your perspectives on where I should go next.

In the meantime  I can be contacted in the usual ways if needed. Then, God willing, I will be back at some time after the Canadian and American Labor Day in early September.

If you have any comments right now, I would love to hear from you. Click the comment button. Otherwise, I will look forward to connecting with you again soon.

    • Pedro Gismondi
    • August 1st, 2014

    Hi Gary…good to hear from you and that you are considering a change. I am now in a middle of a change! After 14 years with the Navigators we are now moving to serve/work with another Christian organization, RZIM (Ravi Zacharias International Ministries). Now I will be more focus on apologetics and evangelism. I will like to keep in touch with you.
    May God bless you and guide you in this decisión time.
    Hugs from Lima, Peru
    Pedro

    • Ken Jones
    • August 1st, 2014

    Hi, bud. I will join the chorus of folks glad you are taking time away, and looking forward to your return. We need to hook up, after you return. By then, my PCC should be all complete! Yea!! And, who knows, maybe even “If I Should Die, Before I Live.” Who knows?

    • Galen Currah
    • August 1st, 2014

    People Builder’s Blog comes like a sparkling jewel falling from heaven amidst a continual flow of mud and gunk from below.

  1. Gary, may I say a big thank you for the many many inspiring and thought provoking letters you have so diligently provided for so many of us to enjoy (first subscribing in 2006 after you were recommended by the late Rev Elizabeth Brazell, another inspiring person in my life). Every good wish to you and your family for this perspective break. May you experience equal nourishment to that which you have given others, indeed more. God bless!

  2. As always you inspire me to keep going! I’m still teaching the Paraklesis Counselling Certificate Program online for SATS (The South African Theological Seminary) and you are in my students minds all the time as they gleefully work through the big yellow book. Enjoy the move, the break, and the new directions. Greetings from Calgary. Hildegard sends her love.

    • Rich Gathro
    • August 1st, 2014

    Gary: My responsibilities at the University keep me from being as widely read as I would like. Your work is a partial antidote! Thank you for this newsletter and enjoy a break…something God intended at Creation!

    • Greg Kerr
    • August 1st, 2014

    Gary, you have always inspired me and I have enjoyed knowing you from the moment we first met at the Leadership Summit in 1996. I truly enjoyed meeting up with you for many more Summits after that first one. Your weekly messages have been a source of inspiration and very thought provoking. I am blessed to have both editions of your BIG Yellow Book and signed by you to boot. I wish you the very best in your time off and I hope and pray you will find clear direction and peace in your future career choice. I truly hope to see a continuation of your weekly letters come September. Many blessings to you Gary!

  3. Look forward to your return. Enjoy your break.

  4. Thank you, Gary, for your weekly dose of insight and inspiration! You have always challenged me to be an avid reader, and you practice what you preach. I join with the others here in thanking you. Prayers for God’s blessing, the Holy Spirit’s inspiration, and the thrill of seeing new horizons on the next leg of the journey. Glad you are taking a break, looking forward to your coming back. Blessings!

    • Dave Broucek
    • August 1st, 2014

    Gary, your regularity in writing these weekly posts is amazing . . . and inspiring. You deserve a break! Taking a break can give you unexpected insights. I remember Charles Townes, Nobel prize-winning physicist, remarking that breakthrough insight does not normally occur “at work” in the lab or office. It’s more likely to happen when you’re sitting in a park. Blessings!

    • Sean Curry
    • August 1st, 2014

    Take a break! You need one and have a great summer! God Bless. Sean

  5. We appreciate you, Gary. And we acknowledge we all need time to step away and re-evaluate, especially in the midst of transition. I pray the break will refresh your soul.

  6. Hi Gary, I’m happy that you are taking a break, you deserve it, and I truly hope your upcoming move goes very smoothly for you and Julie. Did you find your house ‘with a view’? : )

    Take care my friend,
    Denise

    • Eleanor Castle
    • August 1st, 2014

    Have a refreshing break God bless you
    Elly from Australia:)

  7. Hi Gary, I really enjoy reading your newsletter. It helps me keep up on the things the we share in common. Please come back soon. I hope we can meet up in the future!

    • Brenda kelso
    • August 1st, 2014

    Hi Gary
    Greetings from your Irish readers! We met during my time at Trinity in 2001 ..a long time ago. We really do appreciate your insightful comments and trust that you will feel guided to continue to provide us with your godly wisdom.
    A house move is always stressful but we get to de clutter which is always a lightening experience! God’s grace be with you and Julie
    Blessings
    Brenda

    • Carol McGowan – Sydney Australia
    • August 1st, 2014

    Gary hope the break provides the clarity you desire and we look forward to your return

    • Dorjkhand
    • August 2nd, 2014

    Dear Mr.Collins,
    God bless you!
    Have a good break!
    Dorjkhand from Mongolia
    PS*** Mongolian Christians are waiting your books in Mongolian. I have sent you an email about this.
    Thank you

  8. Have a great break!
    I do hope you feel you should continue as this blog is really informative and helpful. Your coaching book revolutionised my pastoral ministry and was the stimulus for a community based coaching and mentoring ministry reaching some of the neediest areas in our town in the UK. Your model is also helping us coach many other leaders and youth workers from neighbouring towns. Your ministry (and hard work) reaches into more areas than you might imagine. Thank you!

    • Phil Miglioratti
    • August 2nd, 2014

    Bravo!

    Enjoy … praying you’ll get mind-of-Christ clarity for the future …

    • sharen Winar
    • August 3rd, 2014

    Great, Gary. I wish you a bright inspiration to modify your blog. I always enjoy to be enriched by your newsletter. See you again in September.

    • Gary J. Oliver, Th.M., Ph.D.
    • August 4th, 2014

    Hey there dear friend, taking a break is a good thing and I’m glad to hear you’re doing that. Know of my continuing love and appreciation and responct and prayers for a rich and refreshing time.

    • W Nolan
    • August 16th, 2014

    Enjoy your break Gary. Self-care is very very important

    • Giuseppe
    • September 6th, 2014

    Professor, I wish you happy times on your life journey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

