Newsletter #545 – Does Vision Matter?

Disney Castle 1Before they built Disney World, Walt Disney urged the construction company to put up the castle first. He believed that everyone would be more committed to the project if they could see the majesty and beauty of what they were constructing. They needed a vision of what was coming.

Sylvia Ann Hewlett tells this story in Find a Sponsor, the book that we discussed in the previous post. She writes that nothing big ever gets accomplished without a vision. “You’ve got to see where you’re headed, to set a course and be hugely motivated to push forward.” Is this always true? Might this idea really be unrealistic, humanistic, motivational hype? Certainly it’s unaware of the Biblical teaching that we were created anew to “do the good works, which God planned in advance for us to live our lives doing” (Eph. 2:10.) This applies whether we have a Magic Kingdom vision in mind or not.

Even so, most of us know the value and motivation that comes from envisioning a dream and moving toward a goal. Isn’t that a basic assumption of coaching? Doesn’t that idea permeate career selection and career building? But what about people who are trapped in dead-ended jobs or life circumstances? Is it realistic for them to have a Disney-like dream? What about people with debilitating illnesses or a daily struggle to survive in impoverished neighborhoods or famine-dominated environments? And how about those who are nearing the end of their lives? Their castles have been built and some may not be impressive or able to be renovated. Maybe that castle-builder lacks the energy, motivation or resources to build again. Then what? Here are coaching-like questions to ponder:

  • Starting from the present, what is your dream now? (Never give dreaming!) What does God want you to do from this point on as far as you can tell? 
  •  How could you do this and when could you start?
  • What is holding you back? Of this, what could be overcome?
  • Consider building on what you’ve done. Starting over isn’t always the best option.

In case you wonder, I’ve answered these questions for myself. Now it’s your turn. What can you share about this that could benefit others? Please comment.

    • Galen Currah
    • September 19th, 2013

    Joel 2: 28 It shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my Spirit on all flesh; your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, and your young men shall see visions. 29 Even on the male and female servants in those days I will pour out my Spirit. Compare Acts 2:17.

    • jenny_giezendanner
    • September 19th, 2013

    A few months ago I broke my leg. Right at the start of summer when camping and hiking were on the agenda. Of course I wanted to get back to that, but my first major goal looked different, and it was a biggie for me – to be able to hop out of bed in the morning and walk down the hall without crutches! This has taken a couple months of hard work already, but I’ve reached it, albeit still a bit gimpy. And when I reached that – my husband and I took a short camping trip, including some hiking, to celebrate. Does this sound like a big accomplishment for most people? – Nope. But for me it’s the start of a whole new phase of healing. Castles are great, but not all important goals look like Disneyland.

    • Rodger Bufford
    • September 19th, 2013

    My approach is to create a plan for the next five years and revise it about once per year.
    If I do not know where I am going, any road will do. But if I have a goal, some roads head the wrong way.
    I also need to leave room for divine guidance. It is delightful when God says yes to my plans, but may be more important and formative when he says no. My plan needs to both allow for and be responsive to divine guidance . . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

