Newsletter #500 – Five Hundred Newsletters – And Still Going

Every year at the Indianapolis 500, professional drivers repeatedly circle a racetrack until they reach five-hundred miles in an effort to win the race and get the checkered flag, acclaim and prize money. Writing a regular Internet post is radically different but for ten years (starting June 27, 2002) I’ve been driving myself every week to produce this newsletter/blog although I still haven’t reached the finish line. Since I’m not a celebrator I had planned to ignore this personal milestone and just keep going. Instead, this may be a good time to reflect on what I post every week and to re-evaluate the journey.

  • Why do I do this? It’s not for money – I don’t sell anything, not even my own books. I don’t use this for self-promotion. I don’t do it for the interaction because very few people respond and there may not be many readers. But this newsletter pushes me to keep up to date with what’s happening in the fields of leadership, coaching and counseling. Most letters build on some recent publication so I am forced to read broadly to find good material. In turn I get a lot of pleasure from sharing my discoveries with others.
  • Should I keep going? The Indy drivers cross the finish line and leave their cars after 500 laps. I have no plans to stop as long as this remains challenging and fun and as long as I have the energy to keep pushing on the gas peddle. Maybe I can go for 1000.
  • Does it make any impact? That’s impossible to determine accurately. My calling is to impact others and at least for now I don’t sense God leading me to stop.
  • Should you be doing something similar? Using social media is one of the best ways to build a platform and connect with others. Maybe 200 million blogs exist but yours could reach a special audience. An Internet search can guide your startup or you might read Michael Hyatt’s post on how to produce a “killer blog.” Go to michaelhyatt.com/transcripts/017-7-keys-to-writing-a-killer-blog-post.pdf or to www.michaelhyatt.com – click “personal development” and find the post for June 20, 2012.
  • Can this newsletter/blog be better? Absolutely. Later this month I will be sending a brief questionnaire to get your response. Until then please give your suggestions for improvement, even if you have never left a comment before. And I’ll return in one week to start the next 500.
    • Human, Charlotte
    • October 4th, 2012

    I enjoy your blog…. and enjoy these posts that you send. They make me stop and think about things….

    Thanks for that…you are an inspiration.

    Regards

    Charlotte Human | Secretary

    Norton Rose South Africa
    3 Pencarrow Crescent, Pencarrow Park, La Lucia Ridge, Durban, 4051, South Africa
    Tel +27 (0)31 582 5617 | Fax +27 (0)31 582 5717
    charlotte.human@nortonrose.com

    Winner – Africa Investor’s 2012 Legal Adviser of the Year

    2012 Global Mining Law Firm of the Year – International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers

    nortonrose.com

    ________________________________

  1. Hooray for you, Gary. Keep ’em coming, my friend. One of the blogs I ALWAYS read.

    • larry bolden
    • October 4th, 2012

    thanks for your perseverance and always growing. i took a coaching class with you at PSI and am grateful for your life and ministry. i read the majority of your posts. thanks for affecting my life.

    • Mardi Bass
    • October 4th, 2012

    I always read these, often forward them, and appreciate your wide readership.  I have followed your leadership for a LONG time….I’m a charter member of AACC 1993 and you have impacted my thinking for many years!   I’m still active as a licensed Christian Counselor (at age 70) and also look forward to many more laps!  Kudos to you, Dr. Gary!  You are modeling active committment to the betterment of the lives of others….no “retirement” for you!  Thanks, and keep running those laps.  We NEED you!  :))   mardi bass,  Macon, Ga. 

    “happy are the people whose strength is in the Lord” Psalms 84:5

    ________________________________

    • Mike
    • October 4th, 2012

    I am going to forward this to my wife who has to evaluate the value of what she posts for parents in the area of raising kids with special needs. I had not thought about the way in which it pushes you to keep sharpening yourself.

      • Rosemarie Hughes
      • October 4th, 2012

      Mike, I would like to access what your wife posts. I am the parent of an adult with special needs. Thank you.

    • Sharon
    • October 4th, 2012

    Excellent keep going to the finish line, I read and enjoy your stuff

    • Rosemarie Hughes
    • October 4th, 2012

    HI Gary, keep up your good work. You call my attention to new stuff and I appreciate it!

    • Thanks Rosie. We go long way back. Thanks for getting me connected with Regent and for your encouragement over the years. One of tees times I will stay in Virginia Beach long enough for us to connect again.

    • Annapoorani
    • October 4th, 2012

    Thanks Bro Gary for all your newsletters.Though I have not so far commented on your blogs ,today I want to tell you that your weekly newsletters have been a great blessing to me..So continue to do this good work and May the Lord God bless you.

    • Luanne Jaime
    • October 4th, 2012

    Having lived right across the street from the Indianapolis 500 track as a child, this particular entry really drew my attention. I’m one of your constant readers who never leave comments, but I use your material for my own leadership development and share it with my Lay Counselors. Keep it up Gary, you have at least another 500 miles in you!

    • Bruce Zoeller
    • October 4th, 2012

    Gary,
    Your comments that resonate most with me today.
    You do these posts from 1. a calling from God. 2. to push you to continue growing. Those are two noble reasons to continue.
    Obviously from the posts ahead of me today, you have a larger readership than you acknowledge. You are an inspiration.
    Thanks,

  2. Wow! 500!
    YES!!!!

    • Charles Lim
    • October 4th, 2012

    Hi! Gary, I alway look forward to your newsletter. I enjoying read it and please do not stop. Go for 1000!!!

    Thanks

  3. Please keep going Gary. You are impacting more people than I think you realize. Your book “Christian Coaching” was the cornerstone of my coaching certification from Trinity Western University (BC, Canada) and Compass Coaching International. You have provided me with the information I need to build a new livelihood. Please be assured that many are influenced by your writings. We may just not always write back.. : )

    Thanks very much,
    Denise

    • sharen Winar
    • October 4th, 2012

    Hi Gary, even though very seldom I commend your newsletter, I really enjoy and am inspired by your sharing. You are my coach. As you encourage every reader to keep moving and growing, I encourage you to do so.

    • jenny_giezendanner
    • October 4th, 2012

    Congratulations on #500, Gary! Thank you for persisting. Your example as a life-long learner is inspiring and your desire to help others is a great model. Your writing has impacted my own attitudes and behaviors in regard to using social media and staying awake to the changes in ministry that are developing. Maybe this time you could celebrate – buy some flowers or take a loved one out for dinner?!

  4. Thank you for all the information you shared all these years. I am one of those who regularly read your news latter and even pass it to my fellow ministers, coaches, and counselors in our denomination. I would like to apologize for my negligence in responding to your writing even those that have really given me relevant and important insight that helped me in my coaching and counseling ministry.
    I pray to God that He give you more wisdom and greater passion in what you do. I have not met you personally but since I read your big yellow book: Christian Counseling Manual as out text book in my graduate program at Alliance Graduate School here in the Philippines, I have become your virtual mentee as I consider you my coach because I have truly been guided in my ministry by the books you’ve written.
    I hope to see you if you will have the chance to visit the Philippines. God bless you.

  5. Sorry for the typographical errors.

    • Terry Motte
    • October 6th, 2012

    I may not comment but I do read everyone of them. Congrats on 10 years!!

    • Henry Virkler
    • October 7th, 2012

    Henry Virkler
    October 7th, 2012

    As one of your students from 40 years ago, I continue to be blessed by your life and ministry. There are many articles I come across on the Internet each week: yours are one of the few that I always read and I frequently pass on your insights to my own students. I hope you continue your blog for many more years.

  6. Hi Gary — I read your post every week — and have followed up on book suggestions and also used your blog content to inspire my weekly blog. It is not easy to come up with something every week (empathy statement) — but I have found it to be a great discipline. I think a lot of us out here are celebrating with you on your 500th!

    • Larry Skahill
    • October 8th, 2012

    Congratulations on 500 Gary. More importantly for the impact you make on so many. I know you stretch and challenge me and are a reliable source for biblical values and strategies in helping others. Looking forward to the next 500 and beyond!

  7. Thank you Gary for all the work you do in writing your newsletters. I am a missionary in a coaching ministry in Nigeria. Your ideas and thoughts form part of my own development and focus. I do hope you continue them. I appreciate your insight and understanding of the times we live in. Well done.

    • Tebogo Lekhehle
    • October 10th, 2012

    I guarantee you that you’ve had and continue to educate, inspire and touch my life and ministry in a special way. I really appreciate all the effords. And congrats on this milestone

  8. Like the proverbial starfish story, It’s made a difference for me. Thank you, Gary.

    • THANKS SO MUCH TO EVERYBODY

      I was very much moved by the response to this week’s newsletter. As I mentioned, I was inclined to let this anniversary pass by unmentioned but my long-time friend Jon Ebert convinced me that it should be mentioned. As usual, Jon was right.

      Thanks for your affirmations and for showing me that there are people who read and appreciate the newsletter. It was especially good to hear from former students like Henry, readers of my books, a long-time colleague and fellow writer such as Rosie, Some like Bruce who have responded to various letters and so many who read but never comment. I understand that completely. (I rarely comment on the newsletters or blogs of others)

      Several years ago we tried of find where the readers are located and came up with a lot of countries. Thanks to you who wrote from Zambia, Singapore, New Zealand, South Africa, Britain, Philippines, my native Canada, and of course the USA. Did I miss any?

      As some of you know, it can be difficult to come up with something fresh every week. I have copied and printed all of your comments and will keep them both on my computer and in an “easy to reach” file so I can find encouragement when I need it.

      I thank you, too for your prayers. I appreciate that a lot. And I appreciate you and thank God for you. God bless you all.

        • jenny_giezendanner
        • October 10th, 2012

        My comments are coming from India. Blessings and congratulations on this milestone!

      • Thank you Jenny,
        I missed that.

        I have been to India 3 or 4 times and enjoyed every visit.

        Gary

    • Seigel
    • October 11th, 2012

    Gary, I sincerely enjoy reading your weekly labor of love! When I thought about you reaching the goal of writing 500 newsletters, the words accomplishment, discipline, and inspiration came to mind. Congratulations and keep pressing towards 1,000.

    • dziedzorm klu
    • October 12th, 2012

    i enjoy your blogs, it inspires me. i thank God for your life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

