Gary Collins Newsletter #389 NEWSLETTER CHANGES

On June 27, 2002 the first Gary Collins newsletter was sent to a few of my friends. From the beginning I have tried to keep this weekly letter relevant, interesting, easy to read, concise and free of advertising. That will continue but from the start I have had a major frustration. The letter has been a one-way communication with no easy way for you to respond or to interact with other readers. That is about to change.

The June 2010 Harvard Business Review focuses on change. “The new normal means constant change,” writes the HBR editor. “Companies [and presumably universities, churches, organizations, leaders and people helpers] must reinvent themselves if they want to survive.” This does not always happen, but changes can bring greater productivity, efficiency, creativity, relevance and energy. There even can be value in “change for change’s sake,” according to one HBR article. The longer things are done in the same old ways, the more rigidity sets in, innovation declines, interests become entrenched, and communication stalls. Of course there are core values, ethics, and biblical beliefs that do not and should not change. But we become stogy and irrelevant if we ignore the cultural, environmental, technological and relational changes that increasingly define the world where God has put us to live and make a difference.

This newsletter is about building people. (We’ll say more on that next week). It’s about trends, leadership, caregiving and change, like the changes that we introduce today. Between now and mid-July you will continue to receive the newsletter in your inbox. Then it will stop coming unless you resubscribe. To do so is easy. Subscribe by inserting your email address in the upper right corner near the words Email Subscription. That’s all. The letter will keep coming to your mailbox but the new format will let you respond easily if you want to do so. Why not leave a comment right now and let us know what you think of this new change.

25 Comments

  1. Love the new format, Gary. Aside from the newsletter content, I’ll look forward to benefiting from discussions and comments as well.

    Reply

  2. I like the new format as well. I always enjoy reading your thoughts and having access to what you are learning.

    Reply

  3. I like the new look and format also. I just looked back and reread the first newsletter I received, Letter 95 – April 15, 2004 THE SAMENESS SYNDROME, – the message is still relevant. I have not deleted a single newsletter. Have you considered making the earlier issues available [archived] at this site?

    Reply

    1. Trish, this is a great idea and a challenge. All of the newsletters are in my computer (and backed up) and it might be good to make everything available. I want to discuss this with some people who could advise and help me do this in a way that does not take forever and, more important, a way that makes the letters easily accessible. Maybe I will find some techie experts who can give us some suggestions for this, to add to informal discussion I had with a friend after you posted your message.

      Reply

  4. Gary, I think your new format will be a hit. I’m looking forward to the discussions too. Thanks for leading the way in “change” for coaches.

    Reply

  5. Gary–great new format! I always get something helpful out of your newsletter. The only thing I don’t like about the new format is that for me the black border on the sides makes it difficult to read the contents.

    Reply

    1. Thanks Chuck. I appreciate your comment. We worked for over a month to pick an attractive design and discussed the issue you raise. We will go with what we have for a while since the text of the newsletter is on a white background. But let’s monitor this and see how others feel about the black.

      Reply

  6. Great change!!, I love the idea of interacting. Thank you for your encouragement to make changes in the way we do things.

    Stay encouraged,

    Sergio

    Reply

    1. Sergio, You are my chief encourager. Thank you.
      Please encourage all of your English speaking students to subscribe. One or these days I hope to learn Spanish so I can communicate with all of your students in Guatemala.

      Reply

  7. Change for change sake is a definitely a good thing. Our universe is constantly changing-Spring turns into Summer followed by Fall and then Winter. Change keeps us on out toes and creates new opportunities.

    Reply

  8. Reinventing …. my mentor and friend (named Gary) is always one step ahead and I need to follow.

    Inspired and enthused at the right time as I go through a change from academia into online counselling and private practice again. Thanks Gary for your vivid leadership and example.

    Reply

  9. What a great idea. Thankyou for making so much available to us of your thoughts, experience and knowledge. the news letter was excellent but this new approach is so generous and helpful. Restarting a lifecoaching having decided that my strength lies in a totally christian approach. this will give me real support in a field that is not developed in the UK.
    Peter

    Reply

    1. Peter, I think coaching is growing in the UK, at least among the business and more secular approaches. I know some psychologists have been developing what they call “coaching psychology,” including the production of research. But I agree that there does not seem to be much in Christian coaching coming from the UK. Maybe somebody can better inform us on that. But surely there is a need for pioneers – maybe including you.

      Reply

  10. Professor! The new style and function is a great way to mitigate your longstanding “holy discontent” with one-way communication. Thank you for the effort to produce a leading edge resource for those who labor at caring. This enhanced format is a delightful relevant transformation. Thanks.

    Reply

    1. Joe, I do not know many people who match you as someone who is “leading edge” and inclined to make things change whenever you experience some of that holy discontent with the way things are. You are a model to people in your church, to your business colleagues, obviously to your family, and certainly to me. Keep pushing forward (and sometimes pushing the limits).

      Reply

  11. As a clinical psychologist and intercultural coach I have been tracking with you for over 30 years. I am getting old enjoying your boldness, wit, and genuine caring; and am grateful for this opportunity to express my appreciation. Your teaching and publications model enjoyment of professional dedication, vitality of faith, and love of adventure. Thank you for breaking the mold again as an innovator for and lover of Jesus.

    Reply

    1. Len, your comments are moving to me and very much appreciated. I hope they continue to describe what I do and the way I think. I don’t dwell much on the past; I think more about what I see in the present and what seems to be on the horizon for the future. My reading helps me discern this but so do the young professionals, including students, who help keep me sharp and learning what is going on and what is coming.

      Reply

  12. Getting your e-mails is a highlight of my week. I feel mentored in my ministry. It will be good to have this forum in which to discuss ministry concerns with others. You are an inspiration, one that encouraged me to get my MTS in later life. I achieved that this spring and pray that I can use all that God has given me for his service well into my old age … with your continued inspiration and example of growth and innovation. Bless you, Gary.

    Reply

    1. Elsie, I loved your message. Thanks so much for your encouragement and support. Now that we are able to get and respond to comments more often I look forward to suggestions from you and others about how we can make this better.

      Reply

  13. Gary, thanks for the reminder that the easier thing to do is to get stale! It is lots of work, but if we are going to connect with those we are working with and for, we must keep up with technology. God bless you – Stephanie
    P.S. I am not sure if you are on our newsletter list, but we recently changed the name of our organization and have a new website – http://www.xtendinternational.com. We were formerly International Baptist Mission Partnerships. The name change was necessary because we were being confused with too many other organizations of like name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

